Skip navigation


International Day of Yoga

21 june 2018

Yoga is a 5,000-year-old physical, mental and spiritual practice. It originated in India and it aims to transform both body and mind.

The history

International Day of Yoga was declared by the United Nations in 2014. The date of 21st June was suggested because it’s the Summer Solstice. It’s the longest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere and has special significance in many parts of the world.


Studies show that practicing yoga may benefit your health.

  • Those who practiced yoga had significantly less disability, pain, and depression after 6 months.

  • Yoga was more effective than a self-care book for improving function and reducing symptoms due to chronic low-back pain.

  • For adults with chronic or recurring low-back pain, 12 weekly yoga classes resulted in better function than usual medical care.

> Learn more on the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health’s website

There are nine types of yoga.

  1. Hatha Yoga
  2. Kundalini Yoga
  3. Bhakti Yoga
  4. Karma Yoga
  5. Jnana Yoga
  6. Raja Yoga
  7. Mantra Yoga
  8. Tantra Yoga
  9. Kriya Yoga

> Find a full explanation of each type on the International Day of Yoga’s website